Stoops, Allen named AP SEC Coach of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year


Kentucky Wildcats head coach Mark Stoops claps after a play during the game against Louisville on Saturday, Nov. 24, 2018, at Cardinal Stadium in Louisville, Kentucky. Kentucky defeated Louisville 56-10. Photo by Jordan Prather | Staff

Kentucky football head coach Mark Stoops and four players were all named to the Associated Press’ postseason awards.

Stoops, the now-AP SEC Coach of the Year, led the team to a historic season, winning nine games in the regular season for the first time since 1984 and the team’s first  winning record in SEC play since 1977. 

Allen, defensive end/linebacker, was named AP’s SEC Defensive Player of the Year and was selected to the AP All-SEC first team. 

The senior finished the season ranked fourth in the country in sacks with 14 and 10th in tackles for loss with 18.5. He led the SEC in both of those categories and broke Kentucky’s single-season and career sack records. 

Offensive guard and running back Benny Snell also were chosen to the First Team, along with Allen, and senior safety Mike Edwards was named to the second team.