Kentucky cross country shines at Panorama Farms Invitational

Ali Cetinok, Assistant Sports Editor

Perri Bockrath and Tori Herman of the Kentucky womens cross country team finished first and second on Saturday morning at the Panorama Farms XC 23 Invitational in Earlysville, Virginia.

Bockrath ran the 5,000-meter course in a new personal-best of 16:23.1, earning the best time of all 173 runners.  She earned a six-second victory over teammate Herman, who took second place.

The win marked the second victory of the year for Bockrath after also winning the North Alabama Showcase in September for the Cats.

Bockrath and Herman led the No. 27 Wildcats to a third-place team finish, just behind Virginia and Ole Miss.

Sydney Steely, who finished 25th with a 17:24.5, Kaylie Kenne, who finished 34th with a 17:38.7 and Jenna Schwinghamer, who finished 56th with a 17:52.2, also joined the duo on the scoreboard.

For the mens team, Jake Allen ran a career-best 23:56.8 over the 8,000 meters and finished

32nd overall across 184 other runners.

Dylan Allen finished in 60th with a time of 24:23.5 while Aaron Withrow, who finished 69th with a 24:28.8, Jackson Watts, who finished 76th with a 24:39.4 and Harper Moore, who finished 78th with a 24:41.3, rounded out the top five for Kentucky.

The Wildcats finished in 10th place with Wake Forest going on to be the winners of the event.

The results for the womens team are as follows:

UKXC womens team: 3rd, 116 points

UK 5k individual results, 173 total runners:

  1. Perri Bockrath: 16:23.1
  2. Tori Herman: 16:29.2
  3. Sydney Steely: 17:24.5 
  4. Kaylie Kenne: 17:38.7 
  5. Jenna Schwinghamer: 17:52.2
  6. Ally Kruger: 18:00.6 
  7. Julz Williams: 18:16.4 
  8. DeAnna Martin, 18:18.1
  9. Natalie Molotky, 18:39.4
  10. Phoebe McCowan, 19:14.7
  11. Bryanna Lucas, 19:20.8

The results for the mens teams are as follows:

UKXC mens team: 10th, 283 points (first five finishers count toward team scoring total)

UK 8k individual results; 184 total runners:

  1. Jake Allen: 23:56.8
  2. Dylan Allen: 24:23.5
  3. Aaron Withrow: 24:28.8 
  4. Jackson Watts: 24:39.4 
  5. Harper Moore: 24:41.3 
  6. Miles Brush: 24:47.6
  7. Jonah Mitchell, 25:02.4
  8. McLean Griffin: 25:09.6
  9. Alex Justus: 25:23.9
  10. Cade Byer, 25:54.6

The Wildcats begin postseason action with a trip to Ole Miss for the Southeastern Conference

championship on Friday, October 28.