3 UK freshmen named to award watch

UK freshmen Anthony Davis, Marquis Teague and Michael Kidd-Gilchrist were among 12 players named to the Wayman Tisdale Award watch.

The award goes to the National Freshman of the Year, as determined by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association.

The three comprise 25 percent of the award’s preseason list. Others named on the list are Bradley Beal, Florida; Chane Behanan, Louisville; Khem Birch, Pittsburgh; Andre Drummond, Connecticut; Le’Bryan Nash, Oklahoma State; Austin Rivers, Duke; Adonis Thomas, Memphis; Josiah Turner, Arizona; and Cody Zeller, Indiana.

Davis, Teague and Kidd-Gilchrist were among five finalists for the Naismith Award for national high school player of the year as high school seniors last year.