2017 Lexington Music Award Nominees


The third annual Lexington Music Awards will take place at 6 p.m. on Jan. 29 at the Lyric Theatre.

The third annual Lexington Music Awards will take place on Sunday, Jan. 29 at 6 p.m. at the Lyric Theatre. In total the award show has 32 awards spanning five disciplines covering Lexington’s musicians, music venues, and music producers such as sound engineers, radio DJs, music stores, recording studios and more.

A full list of the award categories and nominees can be found below.


Female vocalist: Beth MankelRachel CroweLissy TaylorGail Wynters

Male vocalist: Randy Warner, Deven RobertsShawn HatchellCorey Cross

Drummer: Rick Warner, Jeff Frohlich, Ryan McQuerry, Robby Cosenza

Guitarist: Todd Striklin, Cliff Jones, Zach Lafferty, Ben Lacy

Bassist: Roddy Puckett, Robert Trott, Steve Nall, Danny Cecil

Keyboardist: Palmer Tolly, Raleigh Dailey, Beth Mankel, Lucas Hippe

Wind/brass: Miles Osland, Paul Osbourne, Kenny Henry, ToniMarie Marchioni

Strings: Maggie Lander, Jesse Wells, Arthur Hancock, Ben Sollee


Song of the year: “County Girl” by The Wooks“Back to You” by Ray & Whitney“Don’t Tread on Me” by Wild Card“Kentucky Bound” by Greg Austin

Album of the year: “Little Circles,” The Wooks“Legend of Lavinia Fisher,” All The Little Pieces“Postcards to Myself,” Eric Bolander“Heavy Makes You Happy,” Warren Byrom

Community ServiceEaLoudSongwriter’s Round (Twisted Cork)Devine Carama (Believing in Forever)WUKY

Critic’s Choice AwardUniversity of Kentucky’s Wildcat Pep/Marching BandRobby CosenzaThe Bats


Folk: Tyler ChildersRay AdamsWhitney AckeMichael Johnathon

Blues: Tee Dee YoungRonn CrowderRachel CroweNick Stump

Classical: Lexington PhilharmonicBeth MankelYoonie ChoiLexington Singers

Country: Avery CrabtreeThe WooksTaylor HughesGreg Austin

Funk/Reggae: Dublove Reggae BandDriftwood GypsyPrime CutDeBraun Thomas Trio

Hip-hop: Hybrid-the-RapperDevine CaramaC.R.E.A.M. Enterprize, Fredd C

Jazz: Miles OslandSoljamYoung at HeartRaleigh Dailey

Pop: Lissy TaylorBeth MankelRhyan SinclairBen Sollee

Rock: Grimsley RoseBent Penny BandGraveyard RomeosRadio 80

Singer-songwriter: Taylor HughesLissy TaylorTyler ChildersWarren Byrom

Cover Band: Graveyard RomeosBent Penny BandLexington Lab BandRebel Without a Cause


Venue: Twisted Cork, The Burl, Austin City Saloon, Willie’s

Store: Willcutt Guitars, Willis Music, Doo Wop Shop, Don Wilson Music

Company: CD Central, Pops Resale, Cream Enterprises, The Album

Studio: Sneak Attack (Jason Groves), Charlie’s Tone Lab (Michael Vandermark), Long Island Recording (Steve Nall), Third Sky Studio (Richard Easterling)

Educator: Rob Rawlings (BCHS), Beth Mankel (Studio 88), Sara Holroyd (UK), Bill Kite (HCHS)

Live sound: Wallace “Gator” Harrison, Matthew Florez, James Rutledge, Phillip Osbourne

DJ: Kenny Cummings, Max Corona, Deadair Dennis, Jay Alexander

Gear Repair: RS Guitarsworks, Willcutt Guitars, Hurst Music, Audio Electronics


Gail Wynters

Les Taylor

Greg Austin

Sara Holroyd

Larry Redmon

John Michael Montgomery

Dwight Yoakam

Nick Lawrence

Merle Travis

Homer Ledford

Winners of the lifetime achievement award were selected on Jan. 20 and include Dwight Yoakam, John Michael Montgomery, Homer Ledford, Nick Lawrence and Gail Wynters.