Jones, Lamb, Miller named to SEC coaches’ preseason teams

The SEC coaches released their preseason all-conference teams Wednesday.

It’s riddled with humorous absurdity. First, take a look at the full selections:


G Dee Bost, Sr., Mississippi State

G Kenny Boynton, Jr., Florida

C Festus Ezeli, Sr., Vanderbilt

F JaMychal Green, Sr., Alabama

G John Jenkins, Jr., Vanderbilt

F Terrence Jones, So., Kentucky

F Jeffery Taylor, Sr., Vanderbilt

G Erving Walking, Sr., Florida


F Reginald Buckner, Jr., Ole Miss

G Doron Lamb, So., Kentucky

G Darius Miller, Sr., Kentucky

F Tony Mitchell, Jr., Alabama

F Marshawn Powell, Jr., Arkansas

G Trevor Releford, So., Alabama

G Gerald Robinson, Sr., Georgia

F Renardo Sidney, Jr., Mississippi State

F Patrick Young, So., Florida

I love the SEC coaches’ annual venture in pretending that basketball teams can play more than five players at a time. The first team has eight players. The second team has nine players. John Calipari, coach of a team with “seven starters,” wishes these rules applied in real life.

None of UK’s freshmen made either team, despite the fact that Anthony Davis has been named to multiple first and second All-American teams.

And Michael Kidd-Gilchrist didn’t get a vote — yet he will start over either Doron Lamb or Darius Miller, both of whom were placed on the second team.

Of course, these teams don’t matter. And I think Calipari would take the players on his actual team over the players on the All-SEC team.