UK joins universities warning students about President Trump’s ‘travel ban’


Travel Ban (corrected)

News Staff

UK released a formal statement Monday afternoon in response to the executive order signed by President Donald Trump that has been effecting refugees, immigrants and citizens trying to enter the U.S. from seven Muslim-majority countries.

Roughly 120 students and scholars are from the countries affected by the ban, and all are reportedly accounted for, according to UK Spokesman Jay Blanton.

The countries include: Syria, Iraq, Libya, Iran, Sudan, Somalia and Yemen.

“It is against that backdrop that we are closely monitoring the events unfolding since a federal Executive Order was issued late Friday suspending the admission of immigrants and non-immigrants who are citizens of seven countries,” the formal release stated.

The university is offering resources and support through the Office for Institutional Diversity.

“This is a time of uncertainty and heightened anxiety for many in our community. We are committed to supporting our affected students and scholars during this unsettling time, and providing clarity, when possible, about the legal and political landscape.”

Those affected by the ban are urged to visit UK’s International Student and Scholar Services in the International Center at 859-323-2121 or online or UK’s Office for Institutional Diversity at 859-257-9293 or