UK advances past Georgia in SEC Tournament


Kentucky freshman guard Shai Gilgeous-Alexander drives towards the basket during the game against Georgia in the SEC tournament quarterfinals on Friday, March 9, 2018, in St. Louis, Missouri. Kentucky won 62-49. Photo by Arden Barnes | Staff

Phillip Hawkins

UK basketball pulled off its first win of the SEC Tournament this year against the Georgia Bulldogs on Friday. The Cats won decisively, with a final score of 62-49.

GALLERY: UK defeats Georgia, 62-49

After this win, the team will get ready to face Alabama Saturday afternoon. This was no easy win for Kentucky, and they were led by freshman guard Shai Gilgeous-Alexander.

Gilgeous-Alexander has been arguably the most consistent player for the Cats this season. In the first half he led all players with 10 points, three assists and two steals on five of six shooting from the field. He would go on to finish the game with 15 points, nine assists and four rebounds.

It was also a big game for Kevin Knox. Although his shooting percentage wasn’t the best, he was able to score when the team needed it. He finished the game with 15 points and nine rebounds for his 26th double-digit-point game this season.

Georgia was led by guard Tyree Crump. He scored a team-high 17 points and had three rebounds to go with it. Despite a solid game from Crump, it was a struggle for Georgia’s star player Yante Maten. 

Maten was held to just nine points on 2-10 shooting from the field. Many of his struggles came due to the attention that UK was giving him defensively. From swarming the paint to their double teams, they were able to cause problems for Maten. 

Besides Gilgeous-Alexander and Knox’s great play, UK was also helped out by multiple other players. PJ Washington had a big game doing it all for the Cats, ending the game with 18 points, seven rebounds, a steal and an assist.

The team will get ready to play Alabama tomorrow afternoon at 1:00 p.m. ET in the Scottrade Center in St. Louis. The winner of that game will square off against Florida, Tennessee, Mississippi State or Arkansas.