UK forms search committee for provost

In a campuswide email sent out Monday, President Eli Capilouto announced a search committee for finding UK’s next provost.

The provost serves as UK’s chief academic officer. Tim Tracy, dean of the College of Pharmacy, has served as interim provost since May, after Provost Kumble Subbaswamy was offered a job as chancellor at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. Subbaswamy had been provost since 2006.

Capilouto said in his email that the committee was formed “after consultation with various stakeholders across the campus.” The provost search will be a national search, UK spokesman Jay Blanton said.

Below is the list of search committee members. Capilouto said he hopes to have a provost in place by fall 2013.

  • Charley Carlson – professor, College of Arts and Sciences (co-chair)
  • Mike Reid – chair, Department of Physiology, College of Medicine (co-chair)
  • Mike Adams – chair, Staff Senate
  • Terry Allen – associate vice president for institutional equity
  • Rodney Andrews – director, Center for Applied Energy Research
  • Kristin Ashford – assistant professor, College of Nursing
  • David Blackwell – dean, Gatton College of Business and Economics
  • Lee Blonder – chair, Senate Council
  • Mary Chandler Bolin – director, Counseling Center
  • Nancy Cox – associate dean, College of Agriculture
  • Mary Davis – professor, College of Law
  • Mary Katherine Kington – vice president, Student Government Association
  • Noemi Lugo – professor, College of Fine Arts
  • Terry Malone – professor, College of Health Sciences
  • Mary John O’Hair – dean, College of Education
  • Frank X. Walker – associate professor, College of Arts and Sciences