4 professors nominated to be faculty trustee

Board of Trustees

Four faculty members have been nominated to run in an election to be the Board of Trustees faculty representative.

The candidates are: Terry Conners, department of forestry associate professor; Donna Smith, department of family sciences associate professor; Sheldon Steiner, biology professor; and John Wilson, behavioral science professor.

The election comes after the unexpected departure of former trustee Joe Peek, who left to take a position at the Federal Reserve Bank of Boston.

The first round of voting closes Feb. 1, when the four candidates will be narrowed to three. Dr. Hollie Swanson, Faculty Senate chairwoman, said the faculty trustee has to be chosen by the Feb. 21 Board of Trustees meeting.

Related link: UK faculty could choose new trustee within 4 weeks

She said the majority rules, however it has varied from year to year.

Most candidates are generally self-nominated, she said, and have to obtain 10 faculty signatures.

Peek’s three-year term expires June 30, 2013, and the newly elected representative will serve until then. The trustee could run again, as there is no specific number of times someone can run for election, she said.

“I’m just so pleased we have such a strong slate of candidates,” Swanson said. “Whoever is chosen will be an excellent choice.”