Anthony Davis wins national freshman of the year awards



Anthony Davis won the Wayman Tisdale Award, given by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association, for National Freshman of the Year.

Davis averaged 14.3 points, 10 rebounds and 4.6 blocks in leading UK to a 32-2 season and overall No. 1 seed.

Michael Kidd-Gilchrist was also a finalist for the award, along with Duke’s Austin Rivers, Washington’s Tony Wroten, and Indiana’s Cody Zeller.

Davis is the second Kentucky player to win the award, following John Wall in 2010.

Davis also won beating out Kansas forward Thomas Robinson, who led the race most of the year. Davis was also on their All-American First Team. Kidd-Gilchrist was on their All-American Second Team, and both were on their All-American Freshman Team.

A full list of the USBWA winners:

All-Time USBWA National Freshmen of the Year

1989 Chris Jackson, LSU

1990 Kenny Anderson, Georgia Tech

1991 Rodney Rogers, Wake Forest

1992 Chris Webber, Michigan

1993 Jason Kidd, California

1994 Joe Smith, Maryland

1995 None selected

1996 None selected

1997 None selected

1998 Larry Hughes, Saint Louis

1999 Quentin Richardson, DePaul

2000 Jason Gardner, Arizona

2001 Eddie Griffin, Seton Hall

2002 T.J. Ford, Texas

2003 Carmelo Anthony, Syracuse

2004 Luol Deng, Duke

2005 Marvin Williams, North Carolina

2006 Tyler Hansbrough, North Carolina

2007 Kevin Durant, Texas

2008 Michael Beasley, Kansas State

2009 Tyreke Evans, Memphis

2010 John Wall, Kentucky

2011 Jared Sullinger, Ohio State

2012 Anthony Davis, Kentucky