UK hoops gets first No. 1 SEC preseason knod

UK Hoops has been tabbed to win the SEC by the media in preseason polls for the first time in program history.

After leading UK Hoops to its second regular season SEC championship in program history, Matthew Mitchell has his Cats rolling into the 2012-13 season. Receiving 20 of 26 first-place votes from the media panel, the Cats will be looking to continue improving after reaching the Elite Eight of the NCAA Tournament twice in three years.

Also receiving preseason honors were senior guard A’dia Mathies and junior forward Samarie Walker. Mathies was named preseason SEC Player of the Year and first team All-SEC, as Walker was named to the preseason All-SEC second team.

Mathies was named the 2012 SEC Player of the Year last season, and repeating would put her even with former UK star Victoria Dunlap for receiving the award twice. Mathies led the Mitchell’s team in scoring, assists, steals, and three-point field goal percentage, as well as recording in the top three on the team for rebounds, blocks, and three-point field goals made.

Walker, named to the 2012 NCAA Tournament Kingston All-Region team, was top three on the team in field goal percentage, blocks, and points per game.

The Cats open the season  Monday, Nov. 5, at 6 p.m. EST at Memorial Coloseum. Admission is free to all.

Season tickets are available at the UK ticket office, which can be reached by phone at 1-800-928-CATS, or online at

Group tickets for the “Pack the House” game vs. DePaul on Dec. 7 in Rupp Arena and for all other home games on a first-come, first-served basis. For group tickets to the DePaul game,

SEC Preseason Polls 
1. Kentucky
2. Georgia
3. Vanderbilt
4. Tennessee
5. Texas A&M
6. LSU
7. South Carolina
8. Arkansas
9. Florida
10. Auburn
11. Mississippi State
12. Ole Miss
13. Missouri
14. Alabama

Player of the Year 
A’dia Mathies, Kentucky

All-SEC First Team 
A’dia Mathies, Kentucky
Christina Foggie, Vanderbilt
Kelsey Bone, Texas A&M
Jennifer George, Florida
Anne Marie Armstrong, Georgia

All-SEC Second Team 
Sarah Watkins, Arkansas
Jasmine Hassell, Georgia
Samarie Walker, Kentucky
Ieasia Walker, South Carolina
Meighan Simmons, Tennessee