Athletics Committee members named

President Eli Capilouto has announced the eight members of the Athletics Committee of the Board of Trustees.

The members, as announced in a news release, are:

C.B. Akins, chair of the committee, and trustee
Terry Mobley, an alumni trustee
Frank Shoop, trustee
Keith Gannon, trustee
Sheila Brothers, staff trustee
Paula Hanson, community member and director with Dean, Dorton, Allen and Ford, a Lexington accounting firm
Davis Marksbury, community member and entrepreneur, Lexington
Vickie Bell, community member, and philanthropist/community volunteer from Lakeside Park, Ky.

“The committee — composed of five BOT members and three community leaders – was established by the board last year to provide advice to the president on the Athletics Department’s budget as well as programs and initiatives underway to support the academic and athletic progress of some 500 student athletes who participate in 22 NCAA sports,” according to the release.

The committee will first meet on May 8 before the full Board meeting.