Anthony Davis wins national freshman of the year awards

Anthony Davis won the Wayman Tisdale Award, given by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association, for National Freshman of the Year.

Davis averaged 14.3 points, 10 rebounds and 4.6 blocks in leading UK to a 32-2 season and overall No. 1 seed.

Michael Kidd-Gilchrist was also a finalist for the award, along with Duke’s Austin Rivers, Washington’s Tony Wroten, and Indiana’s Cody Zeller.

Davis is the second Kentucky player to win the award, following John Wall in 2010.

Davis also won beating out Kansas forward Thomas Robinson, who led the race most of the year. Davis was also on their All-American First Team. Kidd-Gilchrist was on their All-American Second Team, and both were on their All-American Freshman Team.

A full list of the USBWA winners:

All-Time USBWA National Freshmen of the Year
1989 Chris Jackson, LSU
1990 Kenny Anderson, Georgia Tech
1991 Rodney Rogers, Wake Forest
1992 Chris Webber, Michigan
1993 Jason Kidd, California
1994 Joe Smith, Maryland
1995 None selected
1996 None selected
1997 None selected
1998 Larry Hughes, Saint Louis
1999 Quentin Richardson, DePaul
2000 Jason Gardner, Arizona
2001 Eddie Griffin, Seton Hall
2002 T.J. Ford, Texas
2003 Carmelo Anthony, Syracuse
2004 Luol Deng, Duke
2005 Marvin Williams, North Carolina
2006 Tyler Hansbrough, North Carolina
2007 Kevin Durant, Texas
2008 Michael Beasley, Kansas State
2009 Tyreke Evans, Memphis
2010 John Wall, Kentucky
2011 Jared Sullinger, Ohio State
2012 Anthony Davis, Kentucky